Did you know that the Bible says that a tree can grow again at the mere scent of water? Even if it is just a stump that is rotting and dying in the earth? I may have shared a bit about this before, but today it struck me as being important for someone to hear. Maybe that someone is me. Maybe it is you. But anyway, here it is.

Job 14:7-9

7“At least there is hope for a tree:
    If it is cut down, it will sprout again,
    and its new shoots will not fail.
Its roots may grow old in the ground
    and its stump die in the soil,
yet at the scent of water it will bud
    and put forth shoots like a plant.

I’m on my way to see the movie, “The Shift.” It’s supposed to be a modern-day retelling of the story of Job. So, I’m eager to see how it lines up with all that I’ve been thinking about these days. Usually, I’ll get a bit of inspiration from the movies I see, and I’m anticipating there will be a lot to think about after seeing this one. I’ll follow up with a review of the movie and some more insights into the verse I just shared. For now, remember that there is always hope. No matter how bleak a situation may appear. God’s got you.

Rebecca Benston is the owner of Higher Ground Books & Media and the author of over twenty titles currently available through Amazon and other outlets. Her books include a mystery series (The Rona Shively Stories), empowerment resources such as Wise Up to Rise Up, Don’t Be Stupid (And I Mean That in the Nicest Way), and From Judgment to Jubilee, children’s books including Grumble D. Grumble Learns to Smile, All the Scary Things, and See How Strong You Are. She also recently published her first novel under the pen name of Robin Stone entitled, Bloom. Benston lives in Springfield, Ohio with her awesome daughter, Mya and enjoys traveling, reading, writing, and telling it like it is. She enjoys being able to help other authors get their stories out there through Higher Ground and has recently expanded her freelance services to offer more extensive guidance as a writing coach and social media manager. For more information, you can contact Benston at highergroundbooksandmedia@gmail.com.

Get these two empowering books in the HGBM Shop or on Amazon today! They make a great Christmas gift for someone who needs a bit of inspiration!

HGBM Shop


Leave a comment