I don’t often share poetry, but when I do, it’s at least mildly funny.  Take a look at this:

Happy New Year

‘Twas the night before New Year’s and all through the house,

I’d been pacing and stewing because I wanted to go out.

But since I’d given up drinking and all but given up on men,

there was no need for me to go out there again.

So I brewed some more tea and sat down at my desk

I didn’t feel much like writing, but I’d give it my best.

My daughter was elsewhere, and as I sat here alone

I kept checking my e-mail, my Facebook and phone.

But alas, there was nothing, not even a text

Not from family, nor friends, not even an ex…

The crockpot was filled with the pork and the kraut

in hopes that a serving might keep bad luck out.

So I turned on a movie I’d seen hundreds of times

and I sat back and recited some of my favorite lines.

When all of a sudden, I heard thumps through the wall

the bass from my neighbor’s latest community ball

I banged on the wall but the noise just grew louder

So I sat and complained to myself for an hour.

The party, a reminder of my lonely state

the least I could have done was secure a bad date.

But this year it had seemed like a much better plan

to spend some time with My God instead of some man.

Not bashing, not trashing, not trying to sound bitter

I just needed some time to get my thoughts together.

In reflection on what had been a treacherous year,

at the end of it all, I can say, “I’m still here.”

In all seriousnes, I praise Jesus for saving me and making me new each and every day.  I hope you’ve enjoyed my little poem and that you’re having a safe and fun-filled time tonight wherever you are.  Happy New Year!  Be blessed!

